Squeeze – Tommy – Studio Recording Available On December 10th 2012

Stream now via Soundcloud - http://snd.sc/Q1lPO6

Squeeze PRESS PHOTO 2

When Squeeze tour the UK this autumn they will be debuting a clutch of new songs, the first new material from the band in 14 years. Lead track 'Tommy' once again sees Squeeze on fine form and reaffirms the genius of Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook's writing partnership. Tommy will be available digitally as a free download via Squeeze's website from December 10th and prior to that as a live recording on at their Pop Up Shop tour. The winning formula of Chris' lyrics combined with Glenn's melodies and production is evident on 'Tommy'. Chris says: "It's taken a long time to get ourselves back to the writing table, mainly because we've been touring in the UK and in the States. I have been writing lyrics and then sending them over to Glenn who puts the music to them and adds additional lyrics and ideas." Glenn adds: "When recording the track we were working on changes to the song and sitting down together discussing where the changes should be made and were in complete agreement about them which is something new for our relationship." 'Tommy', along with other brand new tracks, will be made available to the fans as part of the 'Live Package' of recordings when Squeeze hit the road with their 'Pop Up Shop' tour in November and December. At the end of each of the 22 nights of the tour Glenn and Chris will move from the stage to the Pop Up Shop, performing as they go. Fans will then be able to buy a recording of that night's show which will include performances of the new Squeeze songs as well as an additional CD of studio recordings of the brand new tracks. With fans who still cry out for music in the old fashioned sense - that they can touch, and feel - whilst existing in an industry where the outlets for the physical product are diminishing, Glenn Tilbrook and Chris Difford will be taking their Pop Up Shop on tour this November and December. Thirty five years after their first record release they are embracing technology to ensure that they remain as relevant and accessible as ever. Nearly 40 years since Squeeze burst onto the music scene, the band are still as vital as they've ever been. With their fingerprints keenly felt throughout the fabric of popular music, it is only right that these songs, with their evergreen and popular sound, continue to be played and enjoyed live. This new tour and the new songs will remind fans just why Squeeze have left such an indelible impression on the UK's music scene and why they continue to be relevant today. Pop Up Shop 2012 UK Tour plus special guest Paul Heaton Fri 16 Nov Guildford G Live 0844 7701 797 Sat 17 Nov Cambridge Corn Exchange 01223 357 851 Mon 19 Nov Bristol Colston Hall 0117 922 3686 Tue 20 Nov Plymouth Pavilions 0845 146 1460 Wed 21 Nov Brighton Dome 01273 709 709 Fri 23 Nov Bournemouth O2 Academy 0844 477 2000 Sat 24 Nov Reading Hexagon 0118 960 6060 Mon 26 Nov Cardiff St David's Hall 029 2087 8444 Tue 27 Nov Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall 0844 871 7627 Wed 28 Nov Southend Cliff Pavilion 01702 351 135 Fri 30 Nov Birmingham Symphony Hall 0121 780 3333 Sat 01 Dec Manchester O2 Apollo 0844 477 7677 Sun 02 Dec Sheffield O2 Academy 0844 477 2000 Tue 04 Dec Leeds O2 Academy 0844 477 2000 Wed 05 Dec Nottingham Royal Concert Hall 0115 989 5555 Sat 08 Dec Newcastle City Hall 0191 277 8030 Sun 09 Dec Glasgow O2 Academy 0844 477 2000 Mon 10 Dec Liverpool Philharmonic Hall 0151 709 3789 Wed 12 Dec London HMV Forum 0844 847 2405 Thu 13 Dec London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire 0844 477 2000 Fri 14 Dec London Indigo O2 0844 477 2000 Sun 16 Dec Norwich UEA 01603 508 050

Shout about this article…

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*